Congress Races in Metro Atlanta

Congress Races in Metro Atlanta

While a pair of incumbents can look to November, two others face primary challengers.

Dave Schechter is a veteran journalist whose career includes writing and producing reports from Israel and elsewhere in the Middle East.

Skyline view of metro Atlanta.
Skyline view of metro Atlanta.

Outside of the 6th and 7th districts [covered in a separate article] other congressional primaries in metro Atlanta will set the field for the November general election.

In the 4th congressional district, eight-term incumbent Democrat Rep. Hank Johnson has no primary opponent. Two Republicans, Jonathan Chavez and Surrea Ivy, qualified to seek their party’s nomination to challenge Johnson. The 4th covers most of DeKalb County, all of Rockdale County, and a portion of Newton County.

In the 5th congressional district, first-term incumbent Democrat Rep. Nikema Williams, who also is the state Democratic party chair, faces two primary challengers, Charlotte MacBagito and former state Rep. Valencia Stovall. The lone Republican, Christian Zimm, will face the Democratic primary winner in a heavily Democrat district. The 5th includes central Fulton County, southeast DeKalb County, and a slice of northeast Clayton County.

In the 9th district, which covers 13 counties in northeast Georgia, plus the northeast corner of Gwinnett County, first-term Republican Rep. Andrew Clyde faces primary challenges from Michael Boggus, J. Gregory Howard, John London, and Ben Souther. Democratic candidate Michael Ford has no primary challenger.

In the 11th district, four-term incumbent Republican Rep. Barry Loudermilk has no primary opposition and will face Democrat Antonio Daza in November. The 11th includes sections of Cobb and Cherokee counties, as well as all of Bartow and Pickens counties.

In the 13th district, 10-term Democrat incumbent David Scott faces primary challenges from Mark Baker, Shastity Driscoll, and Vincent Fort. Republicans qualified for the primary ballot were Caesar Gonzales, Dominika Hawkins, and Calina Plotky. The district takes in sections of Cobb, Douglas, Fulton, Clayton, Fayette, and Henry counties.

read more: