Greater Atlanta Hadassah Presents 22 Atlanta Teens with Prestigious Award

Greater Atlanta Hadassah Presents 22 Atlanta Teens with Prestigious Award

NOMINEES CHOSEN BASED ON CRITERIA OF PARAMOUNT IMPORTANCE TO HADASSAH Recipients of the 2014 Marian F. Perling hadassah Chesed Student Awards –
Back, l to r: Ethan Fialkow, Sarah Spielberger, Ruby Freeman, Ian Phillips, Andrew Gottlieb, Daniel Ackermans, Noam Gal, Jessica Shiffman, Nicole Berne, Elias Mansbach; Front, l to r: Abbie Frankel, David Medof, Lauren Palgon, Maayan Schoen, Lexi Newman. Missing from photo: Talia Capozzoli, Jael Azani, Shira Shkarofsky, Juliana Zitron, Yarely Perez, Jamie Lief, and Abigail Bocinec.



On Sun., May 4, 22 Atlanta-area Jewish teens were honored at Greater Atlanta Hadassah’s 23rd Annual Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards Program held at Congregation Or Hadash. The Chesed awards have been given annually since 1992 to one student from each of the Atlanta-area Jewish day schools and synagogue religious schools. Students in grades 7-12 are eligible to receive the award, and each school chooses its own recipient. Nominees are chosen based on criteria that are of paramount importance to the Hadassah organization and its members:

• Love for Israel
• Concern for Jews and Jewish culture and heritage
• Concern for fellow human beings as exemplified through manner and deed
• Acceptable academic standing.

Greater Atlanta Hadassah (GAH) Leadership attend the 2014 Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards, l to r: Paula Zucker – Organizational Vice President; Linda Weinroth – Chesed Awards Presenter; Phyllis M. Cohen, Past GAH President and Chesed Awards Program Creator; Eileen Cohn, Chesed Awards Program Chair; Sue Rothstein, GAH President; and Diane Fisher, GAH Communications Team Leader and Immediate Past President.

Recipients of the 2014 Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards include: Ahavath Achim Synagogue – Sarah Spielberger; Congregation Beth Shalom – Daniel Ackermans; Congregation B’nai Torah – Lexi Newman; Congregation Dor Tamid – Talia Capozzoli; Congregation Etz Chaim – David Medof; Congregation Gesher L’Torah – Andrew Gottlieb; Congregation Or Hadash – Nicole Berne; Congregation Or VeShalom – Yarely Perez; Congregation Shearith Israel – Elias Mansbach; Greenfield Hebrew Academy – Jael Azani; Temima High School – Shira Shkarofsky; Temple Beth Tikvah – Jessica Shiffman; Temple Emanu-El – Lauren Palgon; Temple Kehillat Chaim – Ian Phillips; Temple Kol Emeth – Jamie Lief; Temple Sinai – Ruby Freeman; The Davis Academy – Abbie Frankel; The Epstein School – Juliana Zitron; The Temple – Abigail Bocinec; The Weber School – Ethan Fialkow; Torah Day School – Maayan Schoen; Yeshiva Atlanta High School – Noam Gal.

Editor’s note: For more,please visit

read more: