Synagogue Softball Finals Set

Synagogue Softball Finals Set

B’nai Torah, The Temple, Etz Chaim, Beth Tikvah, Beth Tikvah 2 and Emanu-El will play for the AMSSL championships Aug. 27.

David R. Cohen

David R. Cohen is the former Associate Editor of the Atlanta Jewish Times. He is originally from Marietta, GA and studied Journalism at the University of Tennessee.

B'nai Torah last won the AMSSL title in 2015.
B'nai Torah last won the AMSSL title in 2015.

After a competitive, double-elimination tournament that saw 24 teams compete for glory in the Atlanta Men’s Synagogue Softball League, the finals are set for Sunday, Aug. 27, in the A, B and C divisions.

Six teams — Congregation B’nai Torah, The Temple, Congregation Etz Chaim, Temple Beth Tikvah, Beth Tikvah 2 and Temple Emanu-El — remain to play for the league championships.

In A, top-seeded B’nai Torah will compete in the finals for the 11th season in a row and will face The Temple, which nearly defeated B’nai Torah in the winners’ bracket semifinals Aug. 13. The Temple eliminated Temple Sinai in the losers’ bracket final Aug. 20 to advance to the championship round.

Even though Young Israel of Toco Hills scored a combined 79 runs in its first three losers’ bracket games in the B league, the team couldn’t overcome a determined Beth Tikvah squad in the losers’ bracket final after scoring only six runs.

Beth Tikvah will face Etz Chaim in the B final Aug. 27, a rematch of the winners’ semifinals Aug. 13, won by Etz Chaim.

Emanu-El, the top-seeded team in the C division, made it to the final after being sent to the losers’ bracket by fourth-seeded Beth Tikvah 2 on the opening day of the playoffs Aug. 6.

Emanu-El eliminated Congregation Beth Shalom, Temple Kol Emeth and Congregation Dor Tamid 2 en route to the final after going undefeated in the regular season.

The three losers’ bracket teams — The Temple, Beth Tikvah and Emanu-El — must each win two games Aug. 27 to take the title.

The championship games will have no time limit.

Aug. 27 AMSSL Championship Schedule

East Roswell Park
12:15 — Emanu-El vs. Beth Tikvah 2 (C championship)
1:45 — Emanu-El vs. Beth Tikvah 2 (Game 2 if necessary)
3:15 — B’nai Torah vs. Temple (A championship) | Etz Chaim vs. Beth Tikvah (B championship)
4:45 — B’nai Torah vs. Temple (Game 2 if necessary) | Etz Chaim vs. Beth Tikvah (Game 2 if necessary)

read more: