GILEE Trains 19 in Latest Exchange

GILEE Trains 19 in Latest Exchange

NEWS-GILEE Police Academy 2
The GILEE delegation is briefed at the Israeli Police Academy.

Seventeen law enforcement officers from Georgia, most from the Atlanta area, recently returned from two weeks of training in counter terrorism techniques and technologies in Israel as part of the Georgia International Law Enforcement Exchange’s 23rd annual peer-to-peer public safety training program.

NEWS-GILEE Police Academy K9
The GILEE delegation learns about K9 operations.

Leaders from the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation and the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation completed the 19-member delegation.

“As the world changes, getting ever smaller, GILEE’s focus on international public safety partnerships cannot be more important,” said GILEE Director Robert Friedmann, professor emeritus of criminal justice at Georgia State University.

GILEE hosts public safety exchanges, conferences and experts who introduce best practices in law enforcement to police and other public and private safety professionals. Among other honors, GILEE received the Georgia Association of Chiefs of Police President’s Special Service Award in 2014.

“I thank you for your willingness to be a part of this successful law enforcement training program and for sharing your knowledge with other officers on your return,” Republican Sen. Johnny Isakson of Georgia wrote in a letter to the delegation. “It is important that the men and women who serve in law enforcement have all the tools necessary to protect the citizens of our country.”

Isakson praised GILEE for exchanging information on counter terrorism and drug interdiction between Georgia and Israel.

The Georgia participants in the exchange:

  • Rome police Maj. Deborah Burnett.
  • Rockdale County sheriff’s Capt. Sonya Cordero.
  • Forsyth Police Chief Robert Corley.
  • Sandy Springs Police Chief Kenneth DeSimone.
  • Houston County sheriff’s Maj. Alan Everidge.
  • Cherokee County Sheriff Roger Garrison.
  • Smyrna Deputy Police Chief Robert Harvey Jr.
  • Clayton County Deputy Police Chief Gina Hawkins.
  • Upson County Sheriff Daniel Kilgore Jr.
  • Washington County sheriff’s Maj. Mark McGraw.
  • Suwanee Deputy Police Chief Janet Moon.
  • Georgia Deputy Natural Resources Commissioner Walter Rabon Jr., Law Enforcement Division field operations.
  • Georgia State Patrol Capt. Grady Sanford Jr., Troop A commander.
  • University of Georgia police Capt. Phillip Silk.
  • Atlanta Deputy Police Chief Joseph Spillane.
  • Georgia Bureau of Investigation Investigator Rodney Wall.
  • Brookhaven Police Chief Gary Yandura.
read more: