Doug Hertz to Receive Four Pillar Award
Business BriefCommunity

Doug Hertz to Receive Four Pillar Award

United Distributors' Doug Hertz will receive a prestigious award.

Photo by Duane Stork // Doug Hertz
Photo by Duane Stork // Doug Hertz

The Council for Quality Growth will honor Doug Hertz, president and CEO of United Distributors, with its 31st annual Four Pillar Award. The prestigious tribute recognizes an outstanding individual in the region who demonstrates the ‘four pillars’ of leadership – quality, responsibility, vision and integrity – and exemplifies the Council’s mission of promoting balanced and responsible growth.
Frequently listed as one of Atlanta’s and Georgia’s 100 most influential individuals, Hertz is a native Atlantan who attended Westminster high school and then Tulane University, earning his Bachelor of Arts in history and Master of Business Administration in accounting and finance.

Hertz has led United Distributors in his current position since 1984. He also serves on the boards of countless organizations and businesses.

The Council’s president and CEO Michael Paris said of Hertz, “His philanthropic focus on healthcare, education, the arts and the community is unmatched.”
Paul Corley, the Council’s 2020 chairman and regional president at Empire Communities, added, “Doug embodies the Four Pillars of Leadership in such a way that his contributions benefit individuals throughout the entire state of Georgia.”

The theme of this year’s tribute is “Patience and Perseverance” and an esteemed group of tribute chairs have assembled to pay tribute to Hertz, including honorary co-chairs Arthur M. Blank and Bernie Marcus. Tribute chairs include Steve Selig, president and chairman of the board of Selig Enterprises, Inc., who won the award in 2014. Another Jewish leader, former Atlanta mayor Sam Massell, was recognized in 2012.

The Council is still assessing when and how the Four Pillar Tribute will be presented. The award and tribute offer the opportunity for the metro Atlanta region and the state of Georgia to celebrate the recipient’s significant contributions to quality of life, community leadership and economic development.

read more: